Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.06263%

Project: Gretsch Mid 60's Round Badge

Hello all, new member to the site, long time lurker.

I have been playing drums for quite a few years now, my everyday set is a Gretsch Renown '57 Bop Kit in Motor City Red, but that is a whole other post.

My father played drums as a teenager, and I have for quite some time had my eye on them as they were in my uncle's possession. Less than a week ago, my uncle crated and shipped them to me.

The pics are as they arrived. Based on the badges and serial numbers, drum sizes, and number of drums, they appear to be mid 60's Progressive Jazz in Aqua Satin Flame. The ride and high hat are all Zildjian from the 60's as well.

The front claws and tension rods are MIA, along with the tension rods and lower tone control for the floor tom.

Everything else is there, however the Floating Action bass pedal needs a new strap, spring, and a thorough cleaning.

I have looked online and was debating replacement of the satin wraps, due to the age, and some imperfections in the current covers. As these were my fathers I am not intending to sell them, but rather get as close to "like new" as possible and play as a second set at home.

As far as the hardware, I have removed all components from the snare and restored with a 4 step process- Bon Ami, Brasso, Mothers Chrome Polish, Meguiar's Cleaner Wax to finish. I have taken before and after pics of the astonishing difference in the metal which I will post next.

I am not sure what I am going to do with the Floating Action pedal, restore, or perhaps replace with a Speed King.

As I mentioned, I have been playing for a while, this is a 3rd set for me, and a DIY project. Any advice, info, or comments are welcome.

3 attachments
Posted on 10 years ago