Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.66388%

Value of Rewraping

Hello all,

I want to get some opinions regarding the value of rewraping. I am new to the Vintage Drum world, and I am trying to restore this 1977 Slingerland 80N set to a factory finish, or as close as I can get. As I mentioned in a previous post, there are lots of scratches and gouges on the wraps of all the drums, and also the throne. If I was to go with a rewrap, how is the value of the set affected? Also, how are rewraped drums regarded in the Vintage Community?

2 attachments
Posted on 12 years ago

From Slingerland 1977

Hello all,I want to get some opinions regarding the value of rewraping. I am new to the Vintage Drum world, and I am trying to restore this 1977 Slingerland 80N set to a factory finish, or as close as I can get. As I mentioned in a previous post, there are lots of scratches and gouges on the wraps of all the drums, and also the throne. If I was to go with a rewrap, how is the value of the set affected? Also, how are rewraped drums regarded in the Vintage Community?

Hi,So say the value of the set is 1,000.00 a rewrap makes it a 500.00 set.. The way the vintage drum collectors look at a rewraped set its called a "Player's" set.It also goes if you change out the vintage parts for newer parts....Mikey

Posted on 12 years ago

Gouges , scratches, wear & dings, come with the territory of vintage drums. The original wrap is applied better than any rewrap job you could do, & gives the set more authenticity. Better to live with the set, or sell it ,as it is .

Posted on 12 years ago

As stated, it's generally a bad bad idea. Your kit in particular would be a horrible idea. It's not just a kit ... it's a very complete Buddy 80N. Those tend to have a pretty good resell when they are complete.

What Would You Do
Posted on 12 years ago