Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

What is my vintage kit worth? is it special?

So I've been told this is a 1973 white marine pearl , but what I've never seen elsewhere is the lack of bottom heads and bottom head hardware. Is this unusual....rare?...I think they are in pretty good shape but there is a crack on my floor tom , about 5 inches.. all in all I'd just like to know what they're worth so I don't end up robbing someone or selling them way lower than actual value.

I paid 850.00 about a decade ago , I might have over paid as I was a total gear novice at the time, still I always figured vintage gear only became more valuable if taken care of......any help GREATLY appreciated

[Attachment: 1871]

[Attachment: 1872]

Posted on 17 years ago

I think Slingerland more than anyone offered a lot of these.I cant recall what they were called but i think 800 bucks in todays market is about right.

Hit like you mean it!!
Posted on 17 years ago

they are called concert toms,very popular in the late 60's and early 70's

Posted on 17 years ago

I'm pretty sure Slingerland's concert tom model was called the Pop Outfit 58N. Concert toms came in during the early 70s as a response to the larger number of channels in a mixing desk/recording console which allowed close miking of drums instead of the previous technique of a couple of overheards - but the twin head resonance unless really finely tuned freaked out the miking and Eq of the day.

One head was easier (and even better if covered in lots of deadening tape) so the tech could add eq after the event. Nightmare to play unfortunately and concert toms are not much in vogue these days which will be reflected in the price they command.

DR

Posted on 17 years ago