Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Rewrapping Ludwig 3pc set

Hello,

For my Beatles cover band I use the supplied Ludwig kit in the rehearsal room. It consists of two Ludwig Rocker toms (rack and floor tom) and an elderly Ludwig bass drum: 22/13/16. In order to match the look with the typical Ringo's kit, I plan to rewrap these shells with Delmar's 'Black Oyster' wrap.

I've done a lot of restoring hardware parts etc., but I have no experience with rewrapping besides only one smaller tom shell in 10".

My questions:

Did Ludwig glue the wrap all over the shell?

If yes: does it mean to do a lot of work with stripping and sanding the shell (due to taking off the hardened previous glue, too)?

Would it be sufficient to just fix the new wrap with a wide strip of self adhesive foil at the overlapping parts? Any negative effects to the sound if I do so (as e.g. damper effect to the sustain)?

Or shall I fix the wrap overall by putting new glue on the complete foil and shell = on both sides?

I'd also like to take the rail consolette off and replace it with a single tom holder and bracket - matching (if possible) with the tom holder bracket of the Rocker rack tom. I prefer to have the rack tom more to the right/ center and closer to the floor tom. Any recommendations (genuine Ludwig/ or any replacement made by others)?

Attached please find the kit in pictures.

Any advice would be appreciated greatly. Thank you.

Cheers, Ralf

Vintage STAR (= Pre-Tama) website: www.star-drums.de
Posted on 7 years ago

From Ralf