Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.25470%

Need help to identify my drums

Greetings all,

This is my set that I've been playing for over 30 years. When I bought it, I was told it was a Pearl set from the 60's. I recently sent pictures to Pearl and they told me it's NOT one of theirs. It's made of fiberglass shells (they are LOUD), and there is no badge or identification. The ONLY ID I can find is "Made in Japan" on both Tom holders. The off set lugs are cool and unique, and I'm hoping someone can help identify my kit!

Thank you!

Rob

Posted on 13 years ago

Hello,

You're owner of a STAR drumset, made in the late 60s. Dampers on the toms, cymbal mount and rail consolette on the bass drum unmask it. STAR was the predecessor of TAMA.

Maybe you set wasn't sold under the brand STAR primarly, but it was manufactured there for sure.

The 13" rack tom seems to be an add-on a little bit later, as the damper is on the 'wrong' side. Maybe taken from another set as this setup could have been a 3-piece-set in the beginning (just with only one rack tom).

If you search for 'STAR' in this forum, you'll get a huge bunch of information about it.

Ralf

NB: Welcome to this great forum!

Vintage STAR (= Pre-Tama) website: www.star-drums.de
Posted on 13 years ago

From Ralf