Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.46347%

Making a Slingerland eagle decal

Hi, new guy here. Been playing drums about 20 years, restoring for about a month. I'm a fabricator by trade, so it's no sweat.

Right now I'm refinishing a Slingerland marching snare. Someone went ahead and applied a thick, sloppy coat of stain over the original, which was probably in fair condition to begin with.

What I need is information on the Slingerland eagle decal. Maker info, a large clear photograph. A NOS sample would be awesome. I've looked around the web and can't seem to make any headway. This forum has some pictures, but they aren't clear or usable for reproduction purposes.

Any experts out there? Thanks. Here's the best I'm cleaning up:

[IMG]https://img0.etsystatic.com/011/0/7612131/il_570xN.426199156_nkbv.jpg[/IMG]

Posted on 11 years ago

Slingerland Eagle decal?

I THINK you are thinking of Ludwig's 75 Anniversary eagle?

"Always make sure your front bottom BD lugs clear the ground!"
Posted on 11 years ago

This is what I'm talking about. 1930s Slingerland marching snare with eagle decal. The photo is large and mostly in focus, but there is a glare. If not for the glare, I would be able to use this image as my decal reference.

Link to ebay action (not mine) featuring more photos of the drum:

http://tinyurl.com/c5e65mn

Decal image taken from auction:

[IMG]https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/562335_629227905892_1659251300_n.jpg[/IMG]

Posted on 11 years ago

A military store/Army surplus would have something like that.....wouldn't they?

Pretty common,I would think...but..who knows?

Heck,maybe the Michigan Militia might sell you one!

"Always make sure your front bottom BD lugs clear the ground!"
Posted on 11 years ago