Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.65971%

looking to buy vintage kit

Hi all,

I'm new to all of this and looking to buy a used set. I came across this Slingerland:

http://seattle.craigslist.org/est/msg/1448183718.html

What do you all think?

Posted on 14 years ago

Great shells. Ok price. Not great. Rough finish. Will sound Wonderful!!!.

Posted on 14 years ago

I can see the reinforcing ring on the bass drum in one pic. Yeah, these will be good-sounding vintage drums, barring anything wrong with them. $450 seems about right. Not a deal, but not a rip-off. Slingerlands are great...even though they are remarkably similar to Ludwigs, they cost about half the price!

I'm not too crazy about that finish, though. But, it's your call...

1970 Ludwig Downbeat
1965 Ludwig Hollywood
1970 Ludwig Jazzette
Posted on 14 years ago

Here are some Big R's down in Portland... they might be worth researching.

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/msg/1454557688.html

I can't tell you if that is a good deal on the Big R's or not but worth looking at in the same era as those Slingers.

Not a Guru... just interested..
Posted on 14 years ago
Posted on 14 years ago

[COLOR="DarkRed"]yes...and only 3x the price of the Slingys !

Heck...we can all shoot you links to tons of vintage kits with decent prices...that won't help you all that much.

My take on the Slingys near you:

Like McJ said....that finish sucks (OK, he didn't say that....I am). No, $450 is too, too much. Think of it this way...if it was a better wrap, such as a sparkle or a pearl....it still wouldn't fetch over $500 or so in this market. The chrome wraps are the least sought-after wraps Slingy ever made. There's a guy down here who keeps trying to sell a 4-pc with that finish and he cannot get even $400 for 'em....