Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.65553%

What is the Slingerland sound?

Some vintage drums were more similar than they were different. Gretsch drums always sounded kind of different to me. But what was the sound that made Slingerland? How were they different from, say...Ludwig or Rogers in terms of overall sound? Actually I would be curious to get your opinions on which drums you think sounded alike (if any) and which drums sounded different...and any theories as to why that might be. For example: Do you think Slingerland drums were more similar to: Ludwigs? Gretsch? Rogers? Was Rogers closer in sound to Gretsch or Ludwig? Etc.Burger Kin

Thanks

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 16 years ago

Well being a total novice you got me kind of curious with that question so I went on a youtube hunt for solos on different kits.. checked out a bunch from many different artists to see if I could hear any difference. The difference in venues, recording quality.. etc. make this pretty challenging.

Are there representative manufacturer endorsing artists that you or others recommend sampling from different periods to help answer this interesting question? Help

Not a Guru... just interested..
Posted on 16 years ago

I would start with Gene Krupa on that sound quest... In my opinion, which holds little value in this area, the Slingerlands had a sloppier sound... Must be careful here... I guess when Gene playes his early snare drum stuff it was tuned a certain way and it was not super crisp... again my opinion...

I would leave the Buddy sound to TommyP, and he can probably give a little more insight into the different sounds of each company in relationship to Buddy. Of course Buddy did love his Fibes snare...if TommyP checks in he might help us with that since Buddy played Slingerland and Rogers...