Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Vintage Pearl Free Floating Brass Snare Drum..Help.

Just bought this from a real nice guy down south who sadly had to give drumming up due to an accident. I have a couple of jobs to do on the snare drum as im sure you will see when you look at it. The shell is 14x5 brass and is the free floating sysytem. First time ive owned one of these snare drums. I need to know what year it was made plus any other info. Im new to pearl as you all know im a made in england guy hahahaha. This snare adds to my blue satin fiber glass kit. So far im very impressed with the japanese pearls. The pics are what the guy selling snare took. I have the snare but will take pics once its been cleaned up.

Posted on 5 years ago

Looks like a first generation Free Floater, early to mid 80's. Not sure how serial number fit the manufacturing years on Pearl drums. Maybe someone can chime in on that.

Posted on 5 years ago

Yes, it is a first generation. Unfortunately, it has after-market snare wires that look like Puresound. I strongly suggest obtaining the correct extended snare wires as that is one of the main design elements. That snare has many great qualities. Enjoy!

Posted on 5 years ago

Thanks guys for your help on the year plus the advice on the wires. Next time you see the drum it will be all sorted......Thx sean

Posted on 5 years ago