Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

Urgent wood dyna help!

Hi all. I have an opportunity to buy this wood Dyna-sonic, my Rogers knowledge is limited and I need some urgent advice. Forgetting the non-original bottom hoop and snares, is this the real deal? Does everything match up? Does anything look abnormal? Also any idea?s on age, serial number 17230? Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

I think i need a hand posting these photo's!

3 attachments
47.6 kB
64.7 kB
66.6 kB
Posted on 17 years ago

Josh,

I am not an expert, but I have gathered some understanding from others. Until the real knowledge logs onto view this thread I will pass on my thoughts for immediate help.

It does have 10 lugs, it does have the vent hole a dyna sonic badge. It does not have the snare frame or bottom hoop, but that could easily be obtained.

What looks a little funny to me is the interior shot. The color of the wood is blonde - I would expect a honey/amber color interior (the shell is supposed to be maple interior layer and have 5 plys, at this point in time - I think). I don't see the reinforcement rings or the 45 degree angle cut on the edge.

The badge number would place it in the late 60's, like 1967 or 68 approximately. It has the right style strainer and I am not sure if the muffler felt was white or still black at this time but it is very possible to be white. From my understanding the seam should fall on the 2 lug to the right of the oval badge.

The real issue would be that interior, is it blonde? Are there reinforcement rings? What kind of wood is the interior of the shell? Are there reinforcement rings? Are the edges cut at a 45 degree angle? I have attached 2 pictures of my wood dyna sonic for comparison, it is from about 1965.