Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.65762%

Tuning Help

I need some tips on how to best tune my 22in 1969 Ludwig Superclassic kick drum. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Posted on 15 years ago

[COLOR="DarkRed"]What kind of heads are on it ?[/COLOR]

www.2ndending.com
Posted on 15 years ago

My kick is the one I'm not satisfied with. I have a coated Ambassador on the batter side and a coated Emperor on the resonant. Thanks

Posted on 15 years ago

Switch them around so that the Emperor is the batter and the Ambassador is the resonant. If it rings too much that way, use a small felt strip on either side. Tune low.

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 15 years ago

[COLOR="DarkRed"]...what he said....

tune kinda low, tune kinda even front and back....

you probably won't have to get to the point of felting the res head..but the batter...likely.

Also, do you have a Falam patch for the beater ? That will add a lot of attack to the strike and make it less 'wet' sounding.

That's why all the companies make those heads with various sorta muffling edges/rings.

Vintage thin shells are resonant enough to begin with...so the bigger the bass drum gets....the more you need to reel in the 'boing"....

A lotta folks have good things to say about Aquarian SK-1's and II's. I also like Coated Powerstroke 3's...[/COLOR]

www.2ndending.com
Posted on 15 years ago

Super kick II 's here ....the "matched set"

Same advice here on the tuning

Posted on 15 years ago

Superkick II's all the way, but don't cheap out. Get the Regulator reso head to go with it. I prefer the look of a white, coated head on the front of my kicks, but I go for sound over looks so...