Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.66388%

Tung Oil Treatment or Not?

Been busy taking the Buddy Rich '57 Super Classic snare apart along with the 13" tom aquired last Saturday. I found this gorgeous 54 year old Mahogany inside both drums. Dry as a bone and nicely aged!

The date stamp is Oct 1957. I was born 3 months later!

My question is should I do a light treatment of Tung oil to enhance the response or leave it as its FAT, warm self? Would a treatment devalue the drum?

Cheers!

-kellyj

"It don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing..."
Posted on 12 years ago

I'm no expert, but I would say definitely do not do that. I think it would devalue the drum, and I don't think a light treatment would do much to the sound. Tung oil is not as hard of a finish as lacquer, and might need a thick layer to increase the projection.

But isn't the way it sounds now half the reason to play vintage drums anyway?

Posted on 12 years ago

good o'l lemon oil or butchers wax is all u need

April 2nd 1969 scarfed pink champagne holly wood and 65/66 downbeat snare, and , supra same year very minty kit old pies
66/67 downbeat with canister
Super 400 small round knob
1967 super classic obp

once the brass ceases to glitter, and the drum looses its luster, and the stage remains dark, all you have left is the timbre of family.
Posted on 12 years ago

Thanks potsy and jag.

Such a tough call. I was told by some that a light treatment of "oil", tung or otherwise serves to re-moisten and seal the outer layers of wood, something needed for shells over thirty years old because it becomes really dry and brittle. But is this dry wood part of the vintage sound? Is the shell in danger of splintering and needs some moistening? I don't think it is because of the re-rings.