Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.86013%

This vid is for mcjnic......

You mentioned the other day that Mickey Dolenz' Grestch kit inspired you to buy a "hollywood" kit......well.....here's to nostalgia.... :D

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfuBREMXxts"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfuBREMXxts[/ame]

Posted on 15 years ago

That is totally sweet. I used to sit on the wood floor and stare at that kit each week. I had the bubblegum cards that formed a large puzzle. I would put it together and flip over the pieces that had any part of his drum kit. I started playing the drums at age two. I had been drumming for about four years when this was filmed. If memory serves me correct, I had a Ludwig Red Sparkle Super Classic and a Supra (14 in hats, 18 c/r, 16 cr - all Zildjian). Ringo was my main influence, but Mickey hit me hard when I saw those twin toms and (eventually) the gold sparkle finish. I was hooked! Soon afterwards, even Ringo went the twin tom route. I had to have that other tom. It's as if I couldn't play without it. The pull was very strong. I've since owned a lot of kits ... most of them were the 5 piece variety, but a few were absolute monster kits (Keith did that to me). Oddly enough, I never managed to get the Gold Sparkle kit. Strange as that may seem. When I say that I've owned a lot of kits, it's a serious number. In the 45 years I've been at this, I've averaged about three kits a year. Some years quite a few more - a few years less (especially the early years).