Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

The Difference Between A Private Label And A Stencil

I'm new to this. What is the difference between a "Private Label" drum and a "Stencil" drum?

“In fact your pedal extremities are a bit obnoxious”. – Fats Waller
Posted on 14 years ago

I'll throw a guess into the pool, saying that private label may be a small custom/boutique company and stencil is an import/copy of an established brand.

1964 Slingerland Sound King 13/15/22 Ebony Satin Stain (refin.)
1965 Ludwig Downbeat 13/16/20 Turquoise Sparkle (rewrap)
1967 Ludwig Club Date 13/20 w/16" downbeat FT in Blue Oyster Pearl
1979/80 Ludwig Classic 13/14/24 Wine Red
1980 Yamaha Rec. Cust. 12/13/16/22 Cherry Red

...plus an ever-growing snare farm... Luddy/Ayotte/Slinger/Pearl/etc.
Posted on 14 years ago

From Christophonic

I'll throw a guess into the pool, saying that private label may be a small custom/boutique company and stencil is an import/copy of an established brand.

Christophonic - Thanks for you input! The reason I asked the question was that I hadn’t heard of a “Private Label” and my understanding of what a stencil was, is: when drum company1 makes the drums for company2 (maybe even just putting company2’s name on the exact same set that company1 is already selling under it’s own name). Many years ago (currently too, and often from Asia and other countries.) stores and others could have their names/logo put on many items they didn’t produce. Years ago, often there was a kind of “hand shake” promotional “we love having you as a client” type of “perc” kind of musical instrument business relationship between stores and distributors too, and companies would produce special items with the stores name on it. This seems to be the “stencil” most of us have come to know.