Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.05219%

Tama Superstar lug help

I'm trying to piece together a cherry wine superstar from around '85. All I have are the shells. I can't afford the original hardware I can find on ebay and was wondering if any aftermarket lugs that will fit toms & bass drum. The toms appear to be 1 17/32" (39mm) spacing and the bass lugs around 3 3/8? I'm a total amateur on this type of thing, and any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Posted on 6 years ago

1 17/32" is very close to 1 1/2".

I would start at Drumfactory and try to find 1 1/2" Center to Center hole space lugs.

File holes just a little bit to fit.

Perhaps they also have BD lugs at 3 3/8 C to C.

10 Superstar BD Lugs on Ebay $50.00

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1980s-VINTAGE-TAMA-SUPERSTAR-10-BASS-DRUM-LARGE-LUGS-20-SCREWS-MADE-IN-JAPAN/183218423924?hash=item2aa8ab4874:g:1h0AAOSwB5tbLFmx:sc:USPSPriorityMailSmallFlatRateBox!91307!US!-1

BLAEMIRE DRUMS
Thanks to Mr. Jerry Jenkins
Posted on 6 years ago

I am building a seriously abused '77 Imperialstar set right now. One of the BD lugs had broken pegs.A screw won't hold it on now. I went through my junk pile and found a 2000's Rockstar BD lug, and the hole pattern is the same. You can probably buy a whole Rockstar set on C/L for the cost of the vintage lugs and bolt them on.I'd even say most if not all Tama lugs are going to be the same hole spacing. I see mid-grade Tama sets used on C/L for very cheap money.

Posted on 6 years ago

Thanks for the help! Much appreciated.

Posted on 6 years ago

any update on this? I'm currently building a beater kit out of some unused 80s Superstar drums (18" floortom will be the bass drum). Do the RS lugs fit the same? thanks!

Posted on 2 years ago