Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Stain Drum Shells

In the not to distant future ill be staining some drums a tobacco brown, and was wondering 1) Is there a "best" type or brand of stain to use? And 2)Should I brush it on? Use a sponge? Or, and this is what I had planned on doing, use an air gun? Or does it matter?

Posted on 15 years ago

The trick with stain is getting an even coat to avoid unevenness and dark spots. I brush the stain on carefully and make sure that I'm being as consistent as possible with regards to the coat I'm applying. I've never tried a sponge but I wouldn't think you'd get the same consistent coat as with a brush.

An airgun is certainly a decent idea. That might render the best stain job but I've no experience with that either so couldn't be 100% sure on that.

Cuttle

Posted on 15 years ago

I've used Minwax's new water based stains recently with good results on one kit and marginal on another. It works best if you prep the shells correctly first. Make sure any residual glue is gone and if it was a natural finish shell, that the finish coat of laquer or shellac is gone. I tried it on a new shell with fantastic results, older shells needed a lot of prepwork for the stain to finally take, but I still think it was worth it in the end due to the easy cleanup. I also used Minwax's water based acrylic poly for final finish with very good results. I just used a foam brush to apply both the stain and the poly.

Posted on 15 years ago