Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Some Suggestions for first vintage kit ?????

Hey all. I'm fairly new to the vintage drum thing, and although I've seen a few and heard a few and played a few, I don't own any and I want to start collecting and playing some vintage drums. My question to you all is, what's a good one to look for as far as playability? I don't really want to get a set that is pristine and a museum piece and is soooo rare that it's worth 100 times it's weight in gold, but rather one that has been a proven time and time again to be a good sounding kit that holds up well to the road?? Any suggestions? I would like to keep it below $1000 if there are any kits out there which fit my search criteria. Basically, I guess it's ...... what kits are out there that consistantly sell for $1000 or less and is considered vintage, and holds it's value? Mind you, I'm not looking for a set through this posting. I think there is a place for that in the forum, but rather suggestions as to what I might want to consider. I know I want maple that's for sure. Thanks all. baby crawl2

Posted on 16 years ago

Here is a perfect example of nice vintage set that can easily be fixed up to look and sound really great. These of course are club dates - single lug design... not liked by everyone, but still classy and what appears to be a gold sparkle jazz fest...

So you have a $200 - $300 snare drum with a set that sold for $455 on Ebay... (As always you have to be careful and ask questions)

David

1 attachments
Posted on 16 years ago

I would suggest:

Rogers "Big R" drums from the mid-70's -The Memriloc hardware is some of the best road hardware I have ever used.