Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.05428%

Slingerland Radio King help- ID, date, and/or value

Howdy-

I am an elementary school music teacher and found some vintage snare drums in a closet at our school and hope you can help me identify them.

-Slingerland Radio King

Drum Shell- wood?

Finish- white pearl

Badge- Cloud Badge from mid 1928-1941?

Dimensions- 7.5 x 14

Interior Finish- natural

Hardware config.- not sure what to tell you-I hope the pictures help

Strainer type- will the picture be of help

Any defects- it's really in flawless condition. No scratches or rust. Could use a good polish. A drum tech told me there are no extra holes and that the single bent piece of maple is part of the mojo of this drum. I did not see any dates or numbers stamped anywhere.

You can find more high rez pics here: http://homepage.mac.com/mystro2b/mystro2bphotos/PhotoAlbum9.html

See my next post about a Leedy & Ludwig I also found...

many thanks for any insight you can provide!

-mystro2b

Posted on 17 years ago

WOW!!

That Radio King is beautiful!!! Want to sell it??? You're going to hear that question a lot. That L & L looks like a marching snare. Both are fine specimens. I have a Radio King 5 x 14 from about the same era. Those are one ply shell with reinforcing rings, solid maple and beautiful stuff. Great find!! The hoops are what some people call "stick eaters" because they are not curved at the top, like the "stick saver" hoops. The cloud badge is in the 1928-1941 range according to www.vintagesnaredrums.com/slingerland_badges.html. Very nice stuff, keep it covered and don't alter, fold, spindle or mutilate it any way!!

Best Regards,

backbeatkeeper

Its better to have people think you're an idiot, than to open your mouth and prove them wrong, unless you doubt yourself then speak away....
Posted on 17 years ago