Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.85804%

Slingerland Lug Question

(I'm cross posting this from another board as I know some people go to one and not the other. Sorry if this is bad form, I'm newish both places. :D)

I'm kinda new to the Sound King era lugs and I know there's tons of stencil kit knockoffs out there. So, I have some 70s shells that I'm trying to lug and I bought a lot of them on eBay. Half of them fit fine, the other half seem to need the holes enlarged a hair to fit. The threaded posts that go into the shell are larger. So, did I get knock offs? Is there some difference with 70s stuff and this is older? Any guess? The left one fits, the right one doesn't. Neither take a metric screw, btw.

[img]http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3630/3453829966_079298a500.jpg?v=0[/img]

There's also two other style lugs which are 100% imports. They take a metric screw and the dimples on the sides are shallower like those on my stencil kit.

Posted on 15 years ago

I think both of yours are Slingerlands, one is from the '60s and one from the '70s. A quick way to tell, is that the insert on the newer ones tick out pretty far...while the tension rod inserts for the older one just stick out a bit above the lug itself. "70s ones are pretty easy to find, so I wouldn't put a drill to the drums. Sometimes you can slowly work the older ones into the newer holes as the space difference is real slight.

Posted on 15 years ago

[COLOR="DarkRed"]I would concur...if the right one isn't a later Slingy, it's a hecka good knockoff, actually....[/COLOR]

www.2ndending.com
Posted on 15 years ago

From Jaye

[COLOR="DarkRed"]I would concur...if the right one isn't a later Slingy, it's a hecka good knockoff, actually....[/COLOR]