Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.45720%

Slingerland kit ...Info PLEASE?

Hey guys,

Please give me some information on this Slingerland kit. I hope it was a good deal, but I'm new to the vintage drum scene. The sizes are 12" Tom (serial #207887), 13" Tom (serial # 207898), 16" Floor (serial # 222773) and 20" bass drum (serial # 208990). All have the black and gold badges. Not sure what the finish is called. Would this be a good canidate for a restoration, do the drums have any vintage value? As you can see from the pictures all are missing the bottom rims and screws. I'm not sure what kind of top rims I have on the kit, but I want to buy the same for the bottom if the kit is worth restoring. What you guys think? Can you give me some information and some feedback?

5 attachments
Posted on 15 years ago

I can't say if it was a good deal until I know what you paid. Burger Kin

But they look pretty nice and I'm sure they sound great (or will when you get the bottom heads, etc. on there.

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 15 years ago

Well, checking the drum finishes under the "Vintage Drum Identification" link above would indicate this to be Blue Onyx Pearl. The Set-O-Matic tom mount was introduced in 1968.. and '68-'69 matches up with the serial# graph Dr. CJW has provided. Might be a Modern Solo kit. Torpedo handle t-rods on the bass drum.. flared legs on the floor tom.. I think that all lines up correctly.. they should be date stamped inside.