Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

Slingerland Buddy Rich TDR, White Factory Wrap Confirmation

Recently picked up a 1976 (or so) Buddy Rich 10 lug TDR model snare in near mint condition. The seller (on Ebay) sells many nice snares, so no reason to doubt him. The snare was listed as excellent, all original (except hoops) snare.

I've looked through catalogs around '76 and I don't see any factory wrap listed that is white. It does look to me as a pure white, not white pearl or with a pattern of any kind. The wrap at the bearing edges does not look to be redone, but I am far from an expert in these things.

However, I just noticed an ad on Ebay for a "RARE" Vintage Slingerland White Vinyl snare, described as 1970's model 190 snare finished in heavy white naughahyde (vinyl) FACTORY FINISH and pretty rare!

Unfortunately for me, I purchased this snare BEFORE joining this great site. I like the snare's sound, the 10 lugs and such, but now am wondering if this a) was not accurately represented or b) this is a more rare, original white, TDR snare.

Here are a couple of different shots to maybe help with ID.

Please help me out here.

Thanks very much, as always!

Peter

Posted on 17 years ago

The colors section of this web site shows a '76 Slingerland supplement with gloss white listed. http://www.vintagesnaredrums.com/slingerland_finishes.html

Posted on 17 years ago

Wow, that was a "speed of light" response!!!

Anyway, I only checked the regular catalog (which I have), didn't know there was a supplement.

So, is this gloss white wrap actually rare and what years was it available (other than 76)?

Again, this site and the knowledge the members have, has proven invaluable to me.

Thanks very much.

Peter

Posted on 17 years ago