Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.06054%

Slingerland Black Diamond Pearl

Good morning! I've been playing drums for almost 40 years, new to this forum, and about to start my first drum set restoration project.

I bought a 1970s Slingerland black diamond pearl set though Guitar Center,'s vintage department, and it should arrive in the next few days. Once it arrives, I have three days to examine it and return it if it is too far gone for me. I have no history on the set at all, so it might have been stored in attic/garage for decades.

It's not a complete set, no snare. It has a 22" bass, 12", 13", 14" inch toms, 16" floor tom. When I spoke to the store local guy, he said the mounts, lugs, etc., all appear to be original.

I've been reading through the forum here and I'm flooded by the fantastic amount of information! Thank you all very much for the time you've put in here! I'm trying to figure out my plan of attack for the short period of time I have. So far I've come up with this:

[LIST=1]

[*]Inspect the exteriors for obvious damage.

[*]Remove the rims and heads, inspect the edges/interior of the shells for damage. Make sure they don't stink!

[*]Test the shells for roundness. My best idea is to try and put new heads on and make sure they go on easily and can turn side to side. If the heads go on well, then tune them up and see how they sound. I'm planning on using Evans G1 coated heads.

[/LIST]

Can anybody think of anything else that would help me with a go-nogo decision in the three days I will have? Thanks!!!!!

Current sets
2018 Precision Drum (natural maple, 10/12/13/16/20)
Gretsch USA: 1958 3-ply (white pearl, 12/16/20), 1976 6-ply (12/13/16/22), 1998 6-ply (walnut, 8/10/12/14/16/20)
Slingerland: 1963 (BDP, 13/16/22), 1966 (Sparkle red, 13/16/20)
Posted on 6 years ago