Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.66180%

Slingerland 18x20" chrome over wood project

This is the 2nd tom i just got off the bay awhile back, it is a 70's 18x20" floor tom, chrome over wood wrap. Lonecomic a slingerland employee had given me advice on this and the copper wrapped 16x18" shell i have already posted, his advice was to avoid the copper wrap shells because of the glue that was used for them, but the steel or chrome wrap was ok, he was right on both, the copper wrap was a major pain, where as the chrome wrap was super easy, i spent 3 times as long on the 16x18" than i did on the 18x20", once again i used crown tuff strip paint remover!! to remove the glue, and then used a powered orbital sander with 100 grit sand paper to remove the glue remnants, the last pic shows the results!! i have a lot of experience doing this if your a newbie, this is the place to learn how to do it right!Jumping2

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 14 years ago

Lookin' good man !!

While you're on a roll, I have a shell or two that.........Eye Ball

Kevin
Posted on 14 years ago

Nice. I just went threw that too taking off a black chrome metal wrap.

Let me just say. I think I came up with some new swear words.:D

BTW how are you going to finish the shells?

P.S. I'm following along. Teach Me Teach Me.Cool Dude

Joe

“I did not trip and fall. I attacked the floor and I believe I am winning.”
Posted on 14 years ago

What kind of monster Slingy are you building here? 18 and 20 floors! SOOOOOOOOOO awesome.

-Ad

Posted on 14 years ago