Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.05428%

Should I Get New Cymbal? Or Is It Too Soon?

I'm a rookie drummer. I've been playing for about 5 months now and I have fallen in love with drums. I LOVE cymbals and the sounds that come out of them. I really want to buy a Splash cymbal (i already have 2 crashes, hi hat, and a ride) because of it's one of a kind sound. My dad though thinks I should just use what I already have. Is he right? Is too early to start adding cymbals?

I plan on getting the Splash for my entertainment (i dont use a splash where i get my lessons). I also plan to drum for the rest of my life. I have always liked drums but now it's becoming part of my life. So, there is no way I'm going to bail out after buying attachments.

What do you think?

Updated Information:

-Total cost for an arm and the splash comes to around 70 bucks online (not including shipping/handling)

-Total cost for a stand w/ boom (in a store) and the splash comes to around 80 bucks (not including shipping/handling)

So either way I'll be paying close to the same price if I decide to get the cymbal. If I do decide to get it what do you prefer? The ARM or the STAND W/ BOOM?

You can call me Carter!
1980's Gretsch Red Rosewood
2000's Gretsch Catalina Birch
Zildjian/Paiste - Remo - Pro Mark/Vic Firth

Posted on 14 years ago