Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

Seeking plastic lug for Ludwig Standard snare

Hi, all - does anybody have a spare lug for a 60s/70s Ludwig Standard snare? I'm looking for the plastic/composite ones. I didn't know they were plastic until one broke in half. I ordered a metal one, and the hole spacing is different.

Thanks! -Tom

Posted on 6 years ago

Could you provide a pic for the drum/lug?

Mike

Posted on 6 years ago

Sure, here you go...

2 attachments
Posted on 6 years ago

Here's the drum.

1 attachments
Posted on 6 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means, but I don't think they're plastic. It looks like it was just a casting that had a crack, and it just gave way under tension.

Posted on 6 years ago

I've got plastic lugs on my Ludwig Vistalite Combo kit and my Educator kit. I've seen one Acrolite with plastic lugs. I have not seen a Standard with plastic though. Would be really neat if it was.

Mike

Posted on 6 years ago

I think they are cheaper pot-metal, not plastic. I'm not sure, but maybe it's Rockers lugs vs Standard lugs that don't have the same hole spacing. Can anybody confirm?

1964 Ludwig Champagne Super Classic
1970 Ludwig Blue Oyster Super Classic
1977 Rogers Big R Londoner 5 ebony
1972/1978 Rogers Powertone/Big R mix ebony
60's Ludwig Supersensitive
Pearl B4514 COB snare ( the SC snare)
Pearl Firecracker
PJL WMP maple snare
Odds & Sods

Sabians, Paistes, Zildjians, Zyns, UFIPs, MIJs etc
Item may be subject to change!
Posted on 6 years ago

These definitely seem like a plastic/composite. I ordered a Standard replacement lug, and it weighs many times what the original weighed - and it didn't fit.

I'm bummed, because this snare sounds better than just about anything in my collection!

Posted on 6 years ago

From rusticdrummer