Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.26305%

Searching for brackets - '53 Radio King Hollywood Ace

My goal is to resurrect a 1953-1954 WMP Radio King Hollywood Ace – my dream snare that I have been holding on to for 30 years. Every time I’ve tried to bring her back to life, I’m turned back – afraid that anything I might do would not be original, or that I could, in my ignorance and eagerness to ‘just get it done’, actually do damage. But now, with the information age in full maturity, I may have a chance once again! I’ve learned more in 2 months of researching and piecing together clues from all of the great work done by Dr. C.J. Wenck and others, then I did in the previous 30 years. After confirming her age with Mark over at Cooper’s Vintage (she wouldn’t tell me her age, the wicked girl, but I came within a year), my search could really begin to find the REAL, AUTHENTIC parts to reassemble this beauty.

With the help of Jim Moritz at Chicago Drum Restoration, I've been able to finally secure an all original, complete and near-mint 1950-1958 three point strainer. Now my mission turns to the brackets (969-S and 969B), and that’s why I’m coming to you. I have the original butt-side bracket, but I’m missing the cross bar, and I’m missing the strainer side bracket altogether. Three tension rods are also missing. (2" from top of head to bottom of rod).