Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.65762%

Screwed Again? Need HELP

Although I have been a drummer for a long time, I do not pretend to be an expert on drum manufacturing. I have been rebuilding drums for a while, trying to carefully buy parts on EBay.

IT ANGERS ME TO SEE DRUMMERS SELLING BADGES ON EBAY. Nonetheless, I bought what was advertised as a Slingerland COB snare shell. It arrived the other day.

FIRST - inside was a made in Taiwan sticker. I am not sure if Slingerlands were made there, but, nonetheless - let's proceed.

SECOND. the typical 70's and on Slingerland lugs do not fit on this drum. It was my understanding that Slingerland kept the design of the lugs and the thickness of the holes through all their more modern (after 1960) snare drums.

THIRD - there is not crimped bed in the snare. Did Slingerland make chrome snares without beds?

FINALLY - the badge, although perfect on the outside, when viewed from the inside has something peculiar. I have noticed that factory grommets are usually perfect ont he inside. This grommet has 2 cracks on the inside.

CAN ANYONE HELP ME??

IS THIS A FAKE?

Posted on 15 years ago

Pics? Mainly of the badge, inside and out, as well as the shell. I'm sure someone will let you know, but it's tough without seeing it.

Vintage Snares Vintage Kits
Posted on 15 years ago

Sounds like grounds for a refund. Guessing the badge was put on a POS shell. Is the shell steel, brass or ? What should this model Slingerland have for shell construction?

Hope you used Paypal.

Posted on 15 years ago

From vibeguy56

IT ANGERS ME TO SEE DRUMMERS SELLING BADGES ON EBAY. Nonetheless, I bought what was advertised as a Slingerland COB snare shell. IS THIS A FAKE?

Hey there, vibeguy !