Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.25470%

Rogers owners...what are your head preferences?

Hello all,

I'm about to buy new heads for a Rogers script-badge kit I acquired.

It's a 22" bass with 12/13/16. I'm new to the world of Rogers, so before I default to simple Ambassadors, I wondered what you guys prefer. Are there any heads to avoid?

Thanks,

Dan

Posted on 17 years ago

I rushed to read this thread but then I realized you wanted to know what kind of drum heads to use.

Well as long as I'm here. I've always used emperors on toms and an ambassador on the snare. I like the deeper overtones you get from the emperors. Recently I tried the Aquarian American Vintage heads, slightly oversized. They are supposed to be reminiscent of calf skin, but that is lost on me. I've never played on calf skin. I use the thin on the snare and the mediums on the toms and bass drum batter. Nice heads. They seem durable with a little less attack then the Remos but all the tone you need. I like them a lot. Someone told me the coating chips off but I have not seen that yet.

Gary

Dix Hills, NY

Gary

Dix Hills, NY

http://s231.photobucket.com/albums/ee19/sabshga/

http://www.myspace.com/garysabshon

Posted on 17 years ago

For my applications, I now prefer the Diplomats. They are too thin to play hard, but they are great for low-volume "jazz" sounds. They respond better to light playing but they have a ceiling where, if played too hard, will cause them to "boink". I really like the coated Diplomats a lot -especially for brushes.

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 17 years ago

And i am at the other end of the chart i hit hard and play hard i use Pinstripes all the way around and emperors on the resonant side..i like a little more thud than Boing... FYI

Posted on 17 years ago