Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.06263%

Restoring a 1976 Ludwig Mahogany Cortex kit *need help*

Newbie here. Great forum. Here are my predicaments:

Are the interior screws/washers easily replaceable through a local hardware store? These have significant rust on them. Can I just soak them and sand/clean by hand?

Also, the kick was exposed to some basement dankness over the years, and the interior shell is very dry. Not brittle by any means, but it looks dry as anything. Should I do anything about this? Tung oil?

And then just basic rust removal questions. The legs, rims, spurs, tom holder, etc. all have significant rust on them. What's the best way to remove?

Pics provided if it would help at all!

Thanks alot people. Much appreciated!

Posted on 13 years ago

From Doug Atlantis

Newbie here. Great forum. Here are my predicaments:Are the interior screws/washers easily replaceable through a local hardware store? These have significant rust on them. Can I just soak them and sand/clean by hand?Also, the kick was exposed to some basement dankness over the years, and the interior shell is very dry. Not brittle by any means, but it looks dry as anything. Should I do anything about this? Tung oil? And then just basic rust removal questions. The legs, rims, spurs, tom holder, etc. all have significant rust on them. What's the best way to remove? Pics provided if it would help at all! Thanks alot people. Much appreciated!

Doug. first off Welcome to the forum, here is a link to a drum I did I found in the wood really. you can't find the parts your after at a hardware store, just clean the originals they will turn out better than you think they will. http://www.vintagedrumforum.com/showthread.php?t=12549

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 13 years ago