Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.26305%

Restoring 59 Slinger-Leedy Shelly Manne Kit

Hi Forum. Newbie Chas here with a question. After a day of researching VDF and other resources I'd like to ask for some advice on value of a 1959 Leedy Shelly Manne drum set. The shells are stamped 1958 but the Turquoise Veil Pearl wrap was offered in the 1959 Slingerland Catalog. They are copper badged as Leedy/Chicago.

Whoever donated the set to Goodwill... my sincere thanks. Whoever took all the bottom hoops off and allowed these and various other parts to become separated from the kit... you suck! Because I'm a guitarist drum hardware is a bit foreign to me.

I'm wondering what hardware is unique or if some of the missing parts (like the three straight floor tom legs) may be available from an aftermarket supplier. As for the missing metal hoops and lug bolts .. is replacing with COB a must or are there generic COS hoop and lug replacements that I can use until I find a good deal on COB's? I also need the hoop, both floor legs and 10 T-Handle Lugs/Claws for the Kick Drum. Plus the Strainer (Presto I think) is incomplete.

I'm going to post this to the Parts Wanted forum too but was just wondering where else on earth I should be looking for these parts.

Thanks, Chas

Posted on 10 years ago

Chas, fiest off good too have you with us here on the forum, This is a rare kit and finish, It is worth restoring correctly, sans any extra holes in the shells? You'll want to get Slingerland sticksavers COB rims for the toms, Ebay is a good place for the parts also but as you mentioned Try the parts wanted section here on the forum also,

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 10 years ago

Very cool kit you have there. Do you have the lug casings for the mounted tom?