Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.06054%

Requesting advice on Ludwig bass drum hoop inlays

Hi guys,

I bought two 22" bass drum hoops to upgrade the nasty ones on my 1966 Ludwig kit. I'm very happy with the condition of the wood and the repainted black (although it's a bit too glossy). But what I'm not happy about, is that the glue that holds the inlay in place was not the right glue.

There are several areas where the inlay has come away from the wood. The ends are nicely stapled, so I can only assume that the inlay was not pulled tight enough, and that the glue was not the best one to use.

I'd like to tighten and re-glue both inlays, but I have no knowledge on the best way to do this. Nor the pitfalls/mistakes I'd like to avoid. Does anyone have a good step-by-step process they'd be willing to share?

Or, can anyone recommend someone who does a profession job of securing the inlays on Ludwig hoops?

Thanks in advance. Marty Black

Posted on 4 years ago