Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.25678%

? re "matching" serial numbers on vintage kits

I'm still learning about variables impacting the value of vintage sets and I'm unclear about the significance of matching serial numbers.

I've described before my Ludwig BOP set that I acquired over the couple of years that I was in junior high. I don't mean to sound like I'm complaining but my parents didn't want to "spoil me" with one big purchase...so for Christmas 1965, they got me started with a 20" bass #41958, acrolite snare #22496, high hat and ride. I later added a 16" tom #369040 and a 13" tom (that unfortunately I no longer have). Then I added a 12" tom #438119 but after using the double toms for a while, I decided to go back to one tom and I traded in the 13" (don't ask why - I don't know or don't remember). Earlier this year I got from ebay a 13" tom (all the way from Hawaii!) #497102.

So to review I now have an "unmatched" set of all original wrap BOP:

20" bass #41958 - has a slightly but noticeably lighter wrap than the toms

12" tom #438119 - white felt baseball bat muffler

13" tom #497102 - white felt baseball bat

16" tom #369040 - white felt baseball bat

acrolite snare #22496 w/ red felt baseball bat

While I don't have an immediate interest in selling this set I am curious about its value as a "player's" set vs. a "collectable" set. How much do unmatched numbers limit a set's collect-ability? Would a 22" bass #668834 currently on ebay be a good investment in terms of matching the Ringo sizes (22", 13", 16") even if it's a bit newer based on the head logo? I'd still have the 20" bass and 12" tom with the hope of finding a 14" tom for a smaller set.

eBay item:VINT 60's LUDWIG 22" KICK DRUM>RINGO BLACK OYSTER PEARL (#250252655812) Sorry I can't get this to link.