Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.85595%

Re conditioned vintage drums.

I am a pro drummer/ pro carpenter. I have done some custom drum building as well as repair and re conditioning of some of my students drums. I have some vintage slingerland drums and a vintage Gretsch shell. I was wondering how much the worth is affected by installing new wrap (matching correct era colors and styles) and repairing defects such as holes that shouldn't be there. and the occasional split reinforcing ring. I was also wondering what the market would possibly be for vintage shells re wrapped or re finished and adding modern hardware. I have done this on a few occasions where the person liked the sound of the vintage shell and wanted to play the drum but didn't want to deal with the restrictions of the vintage hardware.

Please let me know your thoughts on these subjects.

Kurt

Posted on 16 years ago

It seems to me that you won't get back what you put into them. I am a pro/carpenter-trying to be pro/drummer and have done some restoration myself. The altered kits aka "players kits" just dont seem to bring that much money. I have a kit that I put together out of old Slingerland shells for playing out,because I want to keep my vintage kit in good shape. I got about 500.00 in it not including my time. Its a great kit, perfect for me but I just don't think I could get what I think its worth. Maybe I'm wrong.

Posted on 16 years ago

Right now, as stated above, the market says that "players" don't hold their value the way "factory" stuff does and the market is hard to argue with. The market does, however change.

I suspect (and this is pure supposition on my part here) that as the number of unaltered vintage kits becomes fewer so the player market will start being more constant and perhaps even bouyant.