Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

quick tuning

I have the arrival of my Slingerlands tomorrow - I pick them up and should arrive arrive back at 3 or 4 in the afternoon. That'll leave me around 3.5 hours to tune and set up the 8-piece kit for band practice in the evening. That includes the mics and setting up some other recording/audio items I'll be coming home with. I found out today the that set has a pretty new set of Pinstripes on them. Being I have no experience with Slingerlands yet nor with any of the potential shell types I may encounter; is there anyone out there that would be so kind as to save me the trial and error and let me know what tunings/tensions they've had success with when playing late 70's Slingerlands - taking into account the Pinstripes I'll be using? (batter tighter than reso, both the same, batter looser than reso, low loose tunings/higher tighter tunings) If I had to categorize the music we play it would be Classic Rock. I know the science of this is thrown out the window b/c I don't know exactly what the shell composition/exact year is yet or the exact condition of the heads, etc. but any direction from experience between now and tomorrow mid afternoon would be a blessing :) I'll obviously have to noodle to find my own sound but a starting point would go a long way.

Thanks any & all!

'79 Slingerland "Blues Time" Maple 670T - 12,13,14,15,18,24
'68 Ludwig Silver Sparkle - 12,13,16,22,24
'79 Ludwig Vistalites clear - 12,13,16,22
Snares: '68 Ludwig Supraphonic 5x14, Ludwig 5 x 14 Black Beauty (modern), '70's Slingerland Buddy Rich TDR COB 6.5x14, DW 10/6 Maple 4x14, Pearl '70's COB 5x14, Slingerland 50's blue duco 6.5x14 & 5x14, Pork Pie "Little Squealer", Pearl Masters MCX maple 6.5x14
Posted on 17 years ago