Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.05846%

Pricing on Ludwig drums

Hi guys, looking for a bit of advice here. I'm a guitarist with not that much knowledge about drums. I have a Ludwig snare, rack tom, and kick, and I was wondering if anyone could tell me roughly when they were made, and what a fair price to sell them would be?

Thanks.

Posted on 15 years ago

. Blue oyster pearl

. Mid 60's

Recent Purchases
-1961 SBP Pioneer Snare Drum
-1962 SBP Super Classic w/ Matching COB Supra

Working On
-1963 Red Sparkle Hollywood w/ matching Super Classic Snare

Recently Completed
-1964 WMP Super Classic
Posted on 15 years ago

They look to be in horrible shape . Just stick them on Ebay with a starting bid of $ 50 each and let the market dictate the price .

1963 Gretsch Progressive Jazz Champagne Sparkle
1967 Ludwig Super Classic Oyster Blue Pearl
Yamaha Birch Custom Absolute Burgundy Spkl. bop
etc...
Posted on 15 years ago

Unfortunately, I agree with JB. These are in seriously rough shape. You could verify one thing that may give a glimmer of hope. Run your finger around the edge of the bottom side of that tom and that bass. Is it smooth or is it rough? Is it chipped up? If it's rough, you will want to part with them as JB stated. If not, there is hope. You could put some heavy duty work and money into these to clean them up and bring them back from the very near-dead. You could work these into a "players" kit with a couple of hundred dollars investment and a very large amount of personal work. You more than likely won't get your money back from that, but you would have a decent kit to slap around. No matter which direction you go...spit on the car of whoever did this to these drums.

Posted on 15 years ago

See what cold storage in a dank damp musty smelly old basement or garage will do? Gotta love the duct tape residue too.....DOH