Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

Powertone COB - Head choices

I just picked up a 5 x 14 COB Powertone in excellent condition.

This is the loudest drum I have ever heard...the thing blasts if Iook at it the wrong way....now I know why it is called a POWERtone.

I have a new coated Ambassador batter and Diplomat snare head on it.

Any suggestions on how to tone this baby down of few notches. If I show up with this snare for our next practice our lead guitarist (and musical director) will throw a fit. He already thinks I play too loudly......typical....

I know the Ambassors allow a drum to open up, but what should I use without choking it off..........

Thanks in advance.

Posted on 17 years ago

Hi John, I'll try to help you with a few suggestions.

Surprising that the Lead Guitarist is moaning? Usually, they got these Amps, which at 1-1/2 on the volume have your ears bleeding. :-)

The Powertone is not too unlike other COB 5x14's such as the Slingy Sound King, Luddy Supra. A darn good Drum IMO.

First, for the least amount of effect, use your Muffler, and this will kill some ring, projection, and sustain. Will slightly knock down the volume.

Second option, and this will considerably mute the drum, get one of those Tone Rings, such as the Remo-O's, or the Aquarian Studio Ring in 14" size. This will kill a lot of the volume, ring, without having to resort to strange heads, which might wind up feeling like junk to you. They are inexpensive, are on, and off in a flash, and stay put when you play.

Cheapest option, a small Hankerchief at the edge of the Drum, and can perhaps be affixed with a little bit of masking tape. Hope this helps, Mark

Posted on 17 years ago

Funny how its always the guitarist whose eyes cross when a Rogers drum begins to sing.