Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.86013%

Please Help With "habbit"

When I play drums and I'm using my hi hat (opening and closing it) and using my bass... I have the tendency to lean backwards. It feels like since both my feet are lifting off the ground, I am slowly falling off my stole. Is it a habit that I need to break? Is it normal? How can I prevent myself from doing this? Any other information would be great since I am a rookie at drumming.

Here are some pictures of my pedal and stole set up (if it helps)

[IMG][IMG]http://i50.tinypic.com/2i8dan5.jpg[/IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][IMG]http://i48.tinypic.com/fnrfc4.jpg[/IMG][/IMG]

You can call me Carter!
1980's Gretsch Red Rosewood
2000's Gretsch Catalina Birch
Zildjian/Paiste - Remo - Pro Mark/Vic Firth

Posted on 14 years ago

Try moving you throne back another inch or two and see if that helps.

Jeff
Posted on 14 years ago

WOW that helped a lot. Thanks. Is it also how I use my pedals? I put the tip of my foot (toes) on the pedals and I lift up my heels.

I heard some people keep there whole foot flat out on the pedal without ever liifting their heels. That's why I'm asking.

You can call me Carter!

Posted on 14 years ago

Find a comfortable position that keeps your back straight and vertical. That will allow you to balance and have greater freedom for your feet, regardless of your pedal technique. Playing the BD pedal with the ball area of the foot will give you greater power when needed, and when you are balanced, you can play softer with ease.

Posted on 14 years ago

Thanks a lot. I have my back straight and vertical and I moved my stole back a bit. I'll keep trying new things until I feel comfortable.

You can call me Carter!

Posted on 14 years ago