Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.65762%

Please Help my get my Ludwig sounding good!

Hi everyone...Im a newbie to this forum. Passionate drummer but complete amateur when it comes to all things vintage.

I recently bought a Red Sparkle Ludwig on ebay, pretty cheap for UK prices (£700). I was aware it wasnt a collectors item as the Kick drum came from a separate kit (separate decade even) but still went for it. The Toms (13/16) are keystone badge with the white wood inside....They sound amazing! better then I could have hoped for. I believe the white wood means its is a late 60's Ringo era kit...is that right?

The kick on the other hand (22) is a Blue and Olive Badge (serial 810043) from the 70's. It has the inner wooden hoop on the inside of the drum (whats that called again?)

Anyway it really doesnt have that huge boomy sound I had heard on other Ludwigs...admitedly they were keystone badge kicks though...

Firstly does anyone have a kick from this era and do they love it/hate it? Are they able to get that trade mark low rumble/thump that vintage ludwigs are famous for...

As you can see in the pictures attatched below, the kit has had a few repairs/updates...do you think they could potentially be ruining the sound?

Cant help thinking I should have held out for a full keystone badge kit :( But if there's some tuning/skin choice/ even restoration that can happen to help the sound...I would be more then up for it.

Oh and here's a link of me playing the kit...Ive added a fair bit of processing to make up for the lack of sub in the low end...

[ame="http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JI77uopP0UM"]http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JI77uopP0UM[/ame]

Thanks in advance for your help...as you can probably tell Im massively uniformed..but this place is teaching me alot!

The 22" Kick