Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

Pearl Drum Wraps

Hello all, still a bit of a newbie here...so excuse my ignorance please... I just purchased a Pearl Export kit from the early 90's, the original wraps have been removed and the shells were stained walnut...best bets for removing the stain and rewrapping? Where do you get Pearl wrapping..etc...I also scored some Tama Imperialstar Shells... both concert toms and a bass and two rack toms..(no floor tom) all with the wraps removed, any help in this area would be most appreciated!

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. Berthold Auerbach
Posted on 13 years ago

If you want to remove a coated finish like a lacquer, you could use a stripper like Citristrip. Removing stain can be difficult because it's generally in the wood, not on it. You can attempt to bleach it out, but if you're going to wrap the drums, I don't know why you'd bother.

There are a number of places to buy drum wrap:

Precision Drum

Drum Supply House, aka drummaker.com

Jammin' Sam

...and more.

Or you could even use vertical grade laminate finishes from Formica or WilsonArt.

Posted on 13 years ago

Fantastic!!! Thanks SkyDog...I have considered the laminate. Still not sure what I'll do... had an idea to warp them in the style of a Ringo kit...not sure if that would be a violation of sorts...;-)

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life. Berthold Auerbach
Posted on 13 years ago