Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Original Wrap

I have recently bought a vintage Slingerland Buddy Rich set, WMP. I removed all the hardware and buffed the shells which were dingy yellow. Its now looking like a vanilla cream pearl. I am new to vintage drums. Value wise is it better to leave the original wrap alone or rewrap with new?

Thanks in advance. I will try to post soe picts of the kit later.

Posted on 15 years ago

It is always a wise choice to leave drums with any type of desirability as original as possible. Rewrapping vintage drums pretty much kills the collector value of the drum (s).

Posted on 15 years ago

[COLOR="DarkRed"]Unless the wraps are damaged (cracking, buckling, bubbling, loose, or gouged)....best to leave the original wraps for the sake of resale value.

There are fewer and fewer vintage kits with original wraps around..especially those in good shape...so it's always nice to keep an original, original if you have the entire kit.

We'd love to see it...can you post a pic ?[/COLOR]

www.2ndending.com
Posted on 15 years ago

I was in our local drum shop the other day and there was gentleman there talking with the guy who runs the repair shop and asking about pricing for a WMP Ludwig kit that he wanted to have rewrapped.

I heard "vintage WMP Ludwig" and just had to eavesdrop. The gentleman with the kit was lamenting the fact that he had pulled his old drums out of storage and the tom toms he had added in the 70's did not match the rest of the kit which he had purchased in the 60's. So he was inquiring about having the kit all rewrapped to match.