Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.66388%

Novus for a novice? And other questions too....

Hello,

I am here to soak up your expertise, drum bretheren.

I recently picked up an MIJ "Black Jack" in Blue Onyx rap. Looks cool; reminds me of an old Rogers finish. 3 ply with re-rings. The floor tom and bass drum have an additional re-ring in the center. Sizes are 20"/12"14".

I have heard lots of you talk about Novus here. Since I am a Novus novice, I have some basic, general questions about it:

1. What is Novus and what does it do?

2. Is it meant as a restorer, and can you also use it for general wrap cleaning?

3. Where do you purchase it?

4. Do I need any additional skills/tools to use it, other than a half a brain?

The wrap is in pretty good shape, it's just 45 years old. Scratches and such here and there, but nothing too bad. No seams lifting or cracking.

The set also came with an MIJ chrome snare (no badge). The snare has some rust, pitting and general look of a 40+ year old piece of chrome. Can anyone recommend the best way to clean/polish it up? Obviously chrome polish can be used, but does anyone have any tricks of the trade? Do I dare mention ultra-fine (0000) steel wool?

The same goes for the lugs, brackets etc. Should I follow the same steps as polishing the snare shell?

Finally, what about rusty tension rods/washers? I've heard that vinegar works good, and I've had luck in the past with soaking them in some diluted CLR/warm water mixture overnight, then scrubbing them with a small wire brush. Anyone do anything different?

Thanks for all your help. I am looking forward to another education from all of you fine folks!

V

Posted on 12 years ago

Novus is a great product for cleaning/restoring wrap...It comes in 3 steps: