Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.06054%

Newbie getting started--round badge snare

Hi Folks,

I apologize in advance if this is not the right forum and/or too broad a topic, but as noted, I'm just getting started.

I have a maple, natural-finish Gretsch round badge snare I'd like to clean up. The hardware is original and looks pretty good but needs a cleaning, I need new heads and snare wires.

So first, what is the best (safest) way to clean the chrome? Next, should I treat the natural finish? Then, are there certain more or less appropriate heads and snares to use? Last, on taste, I want to play this drum with a recently acquired Ludwig Standard kit--is this inadvisable, and if so, what is the best (affordable) vintage Ludwig snare to get for such a kit--acrolite, chrome, supersensite, etc.?

Any and all help/guidance greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Drew

Posted on 17 years ago

as to the proper care of the chrome, there are better qualified people here than I. I just use an ammonia free glass cleaner if they're off the drum, of if the drum is metal or plastic wrapped. as to head/snare choice, it's all personal taste and suiting to the application. The remo ambasssador and emperor are still pretty standard, with other brands making very similar heads of fine quality as well. There's also a huge assortment of specialty heads. Especially for the snare top. I've got center dots, reverse center dots, Dry heads with little holes around the edges, and on and on. I love mismatching my snares with my kits. There's never anything wrong with that kinda variety!