Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.85595%

New Member - First Vintage Slingerland Purchase

Hello Board! New member here. As an introduction, I am a 53 year old drumming enthusiast. I have been playing for under two years, and have owned my first set for one year. Having much fun and mostly teaching myself, enjoying the pleasures associated with the success one occasionaly experiences in such efforts.

I own a Black Beauty and use it daily with my kit. I recently decided to purchase a wooden snare and thought I'd purchase a vintage model. Found an old Slingerland Hollywood Ace at ebay the other day and made the purchase for $202.50 plus $25 shipping. I have no intention of becoming a collector, just wanted to purchase something that might give me a nice old-time wooden shell sound. The drum was shipped promptly and looks and sounds quite nice. There isn't too much money involved in this small investment, so I'm quite certain I haven't been taken to the cleaners or anything of the sort. I was hoping that some of you would take the time to comment on the price I paid, value received, and the drum I purchased. Here is a link to the ebay page.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250197880371&indexURL=4&photoDisplayType=2#ebayphotohosting

I read some of the articles and apparently I do have a 1960's original Hollywood Ace. I have no idea how much of it, or if any, has been replaced with parts, original or reproduced. It does have the "chocolate milk" paint on the inside and around the rims, so I can't really tell the ply depth. The badge is Niles, black and bronze/gold.