Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.65344%

Need help with a Rogers Super Ten...maple?

Hi! Newbie here. Heard about this place from the Drummer Cafe. Looks like a cool place!

I recently came across this drum at a friend's house. I'm not a Rogers guy, but I'd never heard of anything but a metal Super Ten. There are a couple of extra holes, and an unoriginal throw/butt. Can anyone tell me about this drum, or a ballpark idea of its value? I have pics, but they are too big to attach.

Thanks, Dan

Posted on 18 years ago

Hey Dan...

Rogers did indeed make a Maple SuperTen, but not until 1983, which was the LAST YEAR of manufacture for this drum. It would of course be the Big "R" badge, and it was available in 5X14, 61/2X14, and 8X14.

Regarding value, that's a tough call on this drum as the "desireable" SuperTens are the 1st run models that date back to 1973 as they carried the Oval Badge plus script logo. In addition,

Extra holes and a non original throw/butt devalue this drum even more. I think had the drum been ALL THERE with regard to parts and no extra holes, it would be nice for someone's collection as well as an excellent sounding player as these are the XP8 series of Maple shells,... ( 8 plies )... and they do sound good.

Out of curiosity, what size is this drum... 5", 61/2", or 8"?

Hope this was of help!

Tommyp

Posted on 18 years ago

Thanks, Tommy!

This drum doesn't have the big "R"; it has the oval, and it is a 5" drum. No paint inside. I may buy it from him. The reinforcing rings seem very thick.

Dan

Posted on 18 years ago

Can we get a pic of it to see exactly what it is?

David

Webmaster

Posted on 18 years ago

I really want to, but the files are too big, and I'm unsure how to go about shrinking them. I'm a bit of a computer dummy...what do you recommend(I'm hoping for something....free? :))

Thanks again,

Dan