Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.25678%

Need help identifying Premier Drum set + snare

Hi Guys,

I recently had the chance to buy an old premier drum set. I'm a bass guitarist, not a drummer but I'd like to give these drums a try. Normally I'm pretty good in finding info on basses and guitars but drums seem to be a bit out of my league. So this is a cry for help here :)

This is what I found out so far:

* It seems to be made somewhere near 1968-1970. Serial number are all between 09000 en 15000.

* Kick = 22", toms = 13, 14 and 16", snare is 14"

* The guy that sold it to me was the drummer of well known Dutch orchestra/showband from the sixties and seventies that used to tour Europe.

This is what puzzles me:

I cannot find a similar set anywhere in the catalogues. Somehow most premier drums seem to have different lugs and different set-ups.

Is this an official colour? It's black ad gold and it seems to be the original colour. Original tags and sticker (of a drum shop in Brussels) are still there.

The snare seems to be a bit deeper than a normal snare. Any ideas?

Here are the pics. Any help would be appreciated.

[IMG]http://i40.tinypic.com/10hm5q0.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i42.tinypic.com/nouhic.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i39.tinypic.com/rms3li.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i40.tinypic.com/eajckm.jpg[/IMG]

Posted on 12 years ago

Hello and Welcome !

This is a Premier from the late 70s (or perhaps early 80s) with the so called 'speedboat lugs'. Definitely not 60s or early 70s. Premier used such combinations of stripes, often with different colours, but this combination (black/gold) is new to me.

The snare drum is a COW (chrome of wood) type.

Don't try to evaluate the manufacturing year by the numbers on the Premier badges: there's absolutely no system behind it, as the numbers are not continuously!

A nice drumkit!

Ralf