Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Need Advice on a Rock kit

Hi Guys

I am new here. I am a studio owner/producer and I am building a new studio currently. I want to get the right "house kit" for the new studio. I figured this would be a good lace for advice. I am looking for a huge sounding vintage rock kit. I have mic'd up some old ludwigs and rogers in my time that have sounded good. Problem is I am not a drum expert so I have no idea what the exact model they were etc. So I know this is a broad question but...

What vintage kit do you guys reccomend? Think big thuddy classic rock sound.

Thanks in advance,

Ross

Posted on 18 years ago

Hi! I'm no expert either, but I do love that big old rock sound! I think you were bang on with the Ludwig - Bonham used them, and although it was his playing and the production, I'm sure the drums themselves had a lot to do with the sound. I don't need to tell you as a producer that you can't get an amazing sound from average gear. I had a mid-range kit when we went in, and we sampled tom sounds because mine didn't cut it! I's suggest a 1970's Ludwig, maybe with a bigger than standard Bass drum (maybe 24) to get that big rock sound. Hope my rambling help a little!

Tama Superstar, 22, 22, 16, 14, 13 Desert Burst
Premier Genista, 22, 16, 13, 12 Black Lacquer
Premier Genista, 20, 14, 10 and snare Black Lacquer
Premier Resonator 22, 16, 14, 13 poly creme/black
Zickos 22, 16, 14, 13, clear acrylic and snare
Posted on 18 years ago

Quoted post