Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.65971%

Ludwig Super Sensitive problem... I am a real vintage noob here.

Hey! I just bought a Ludwig 1970s kit in Black Panther that came with a Luddy Super Sensitive snare 14x5...

Problem is... I have no idea how the snare works. My problem is a very noobish one...

How exactly do I take out the snare wires and the strainer? I don't really know what screw drivers to use or whatever. I'm having problems here. :/

Any help and additional tips with the snare and my problem will be deeply appreciated.

Posted on 14 years ago

Is there a reason why you want to dismantle the strainer? Is it broken or need parts or are you trying to clean it?

Can you post a photo of the kits and snare?

Thanks

David

Posted on 14 years ago

I don't have pics at the moment, but I wanna clean up the shell. :)

Posted on 14 years ago

I just cleaned a Super, and what a pain. The removal of the snares is easy enough... flip the drum over and turn the adjustment knobs until you have enough slack to slip the snares out of the bracket on each side. Removing the strainers is a bear, and I will just say there are many small parts involved, and be very careful where you disassemble it.... over a carpet is not a good locale.

Kevin
Posted on 14 years ago

You will need an allen wrench. All of the other stuff will come off with your fingers.

Recent Purchases
-1961 SBP Pioneer Snare Drum
-1962 SBP Super Classic w/ Matching COB Supra

Working On
-1963 Red Sparkle Hollywood w/ matching Super Classic Snare

Recently Completed
-1964 WMP Super Classic
Posted on 14 years ago

You might want to check whats under that naugahyde wrap, could be one of the Ludwig mod finishes from that time period.

Posted on 14 years ago

From lucky