Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Ludwig snare questions...

Okay I am really new to vintage drum restoring and these questions might seem obvious to you guys but I really don't want to screw up these drums and I would appreciate any help.

1. The snare in the pictures is a Ludwig Universal (I think). Is it Nickle over Brass?

2. Will getting the drum refinished in a new coat of nickle or chrome take away from the value?

3. What are the three holes in the shape of a triangle in the last picture for?

4. I also ordered a 1960's Supersensitive. Could this be coated in nickle or something else (maybe a gold or black finish) and would it take away from the value?

5. Is there any difference in the new Supersensitive strainers and the old ones?

Thanks!!!

[Attachment: 3901]

[Attachment: 3902]

[Attachment: 3903]

[Attachment: 3904]

Posted on 15 years ago

oh yeah, yesterday, that drum looked like this---[Attachment: 3905]

1 attachments
Posted on 15 years ago

Best way to tell if its brass as far as Ludwig goes, it take a look at the bearing edge, if it tucks back towards the shell, it's possibly brass. Secondly, look for a seam, and lastly those previous two with a crimped snare bed pretty much close the door on it. As far as nickel and whether or not it's worth replating. Lots of people like them as much as original as possible. As far as the holes, probably the throwoff?

Try checking here for more

Its better to have people think you're an idiot, than to open your mouth and prove them wrong, unless you doubt yourself then speak away....
Posted on 15 years ago

Hey thanks! The 3 holes are not for a strainer though. The stainer is over a lug or two right over the snare beds.

Posted on 15 years ago

The holes could be from the muffler?

Posted on 15 years ago