Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.25678%

ludwig snare advice please

hey people this is my first post so be gentle!!

ive been playing for 20+ years and have been using a 14x5 premier birch snare for ages now and its great,but now i want something different/louder etc,

ive always fancied a 6 1/2 black beauty but have never used one,so what i want to ask is:

are the modern bb's and supra's any good ??,or should i wait for a vintage example??

what is the main difference soundwise between the bb's and supra's??

any help or advice would be great

thanks

Posted on 16 years ago

[COLOR=black]This question has been asked, and they are the same sound if you compare brass to brass etc...[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]The vintage version will always have a certain vibe about it and they can be picked up for a good price...[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]Also check on an Acrolite as well.. An even better price and an all around nice drum. 8 lugs and not 10 lugs[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]Also, remember the BB's were brass and most Supra's are not, so refine exactly what you want.. A brass drum or a ludalloy version. The price is much different from brass to ludalloy[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]There are Ludwig people here that can help in this answer better then me.[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]David[/COLOR]

Posted on 16 years ago

I just received my 65 Acrolite yesterday and it is fantastic. And David is right, you can get them for a good price.

Posted on 16 years ago

I bought a 70's Acro off the advice of members here and I am really happy with it. I still wanted a deeper drum however, and recently picked up a 6.5x14 70's Super Sensitive that needed some tlc. I gigged with that drum for the first time last weekend and it was truly amazing.