Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Ludwig Shell Repair/Hardware Re-Chroming

[FONT="Arial Narrow"][SIZE="3"]Hey Fellas,

So... a couple Q's on my 3ply restoration project.

Shell Repair- (specifically filling drill holes) OK... so how do the masters fill extra holes? Wood filler/saw dust mix, or perhaps a lathed dowell rod glued in? Trying to do as much of this project myself before shipping it out to Jack Lawton for recover.

Lugs/Hardware/Supra Shell Re-Chrome- Any ideas or resources on having hardware re-chromed? Does this work effectively on worn, pitted hardware/supra shells? Any ideas of cost points?[/SIZE][/FONT]

DAVID
DETROIT ROCK CITY
Posted on 17 years ago

Hey, I have a LOT of experience filling holes. The REAL way the masters do it is the way I do it. You must buy an EXACT match drum shell to make wood plugs out of. Go to home depot/lowes or any hardware store and get a drill bit for making wood plugs. You need a drill press to get perfectly straight holes, or a lot of concentration, practice, and a steady hand. If the shell is a match you barely need to sand, just glue the wood plug into the shell with wood glue and sand flat, which if the shell is a perfect match, you can do by hand.

The re-chroming all comes down to cost. If you are on a budget, use Whink rust remover, and if its not too bad a super concentrated solution of dawn dish soap and Bon Ami. Brand name cleaners are very importand when cleaning drums. You must use the correct brand name cleaner, glue, tool, etc if you want good results. Most cleaning products arnt made to clean vintage drums.

If you want an amazing chrome job and can do it yourself heres a sight that sells chrome plating kits pretty damn cheap. http://www.caswellplating.com/kits/